Friday Night Lights

Tonight is the monthly Friday Night Lights event in Red Hook.   it means that we will be open till 9 pm,  so if you normally have trouble getting here by five,  tonight is the night to come and get the beautiful fabrics that you need for your next project.       This month the event is themed around old cars,  so if you ( or your partner ) like vintage vehicles you have even more reason to come into town.    For my part I have my good guitar with me and will play for anyone who wants to hear,  and I am working on restoring a quilt with a neat connection to vintage cars.

It is made of mens wool suiting, with a madras plaid on the back, no batting, but with the wool it would be plenty warm.    Based on the style and materials it is from the 1940’s and the fact that the owners found it in the rumble seat of a 1940’s car they purchased to restore only reinforces the date.    I don’t have good photos to share  – it is tricky to get the dark colors to look true and nothing I took even comes close.    So you’ll have to come by to see it in person.    I am mostly closing up small moth holes, and it will get a new binding and a good cleaning.    But what a fun accessory for your vintage car!!   I love it.

Tomorrow morning we have our Block of the month,  with block number 8.  9 am.   I know you will like this one.  This Tuesday is hand stitchers and stumpwork clubs   Also coming up on the 11th, which is next Friday,  is another session of Big stitch quilting.    Details and supplies are on the classes tab.  There is room for a few more so call to register.    IMG_6993

 

About villagefabricshoppe

We are open 10-5 Tues- Saturday
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.